Energy Dispute Resolution: Investment Protection, Transit and the Energy Charter Treaty

Energy Dispute Resolution: Investment Protection, Transit and the Energy Charter Treaty

Number of page: 472
Author: Graham Coop
Publisher: Juris Publishing, Inc.
Category: Law

Energy Dispute Resolution: Investment Protection, Transit and the Energy Charter Treaty is n a compilation of written contributions prepared in the context of a nconference organized by the Energy Charter Secretariat, in cooperation nwith five other well-known legal institutions (the Arbitration Institute n of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce, the British Institute of nInternational and Comparative Law, the International Centre for nSettlement of Investment Disputes, the International Chamber of Commerce n and the Permanent Court of Arbitration). This highly successful nconference took place in Brussels in October 2009. Energy Dispute Resolution: Investment Protection, Transit and the Energy Charter Treaty focuses on investment arbitration under the Energy Charter Treaty (or ECT) and on transit dispute resolution under the ECT .nPart I consists of a review of awards, decisions and other ndevelopments in ECT investment arbitrations, of which nearly 30 were in nthe public domain as of 1 January 2011. Part II deals with the nrelationship between bilateral investment treaties, the ECT as a nmultilateral investment treaty, and European Union (EU) law, and naddresses the question of whether conflict between these legal systems nis inevitable. In Part III, the book reviews the highly developed nprovisional application mechanism of the ECT, particularly in relation nto Russia, which signed the ECT in 1994 but has never ratified it. Part nIV deals with the energy transit provisions of the ECT and the Treaty’s npotential application with respect to East-West energy transit and nsupply disputes. The book also contains an Editor’s Preface, nintroductory and closing remarks, a table of contents, a detailed index, n and an Appendix in the form of a CD-ROM containing the rules of narbitration of the three international arbitration mechanisms provided nby the ECT (ICSID, SCC and ad hoc UNCITRAL arbitration) .nThe book is of international application, particularly within the n51-country Energy Charter constituency (Western, Central and Eastern nEurope, the former Soviet Union, Japan, Turkey, Mongolia and Australia), n but is relevant to energy and international arbitration lawyers nworldwide. 

About The Author

In May 2013 Graham Coop joined Volterra Fietta as a Partner.

Graham Coop,General Counsel, Energy Charter Secretariat, Brussels

Graham Coop joined the Energy Charter Secretariat as General Counsel
in 2004. Prior to this, he was Head of the Energy and Natural Resources
Group at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Paris, where he was based from
1992 until 2002, followed by two years as a Partner with Denton Wilde
Sapte's Energy and Infrastructure Department in London. He was a member
of the legal team representing Bahrain in its territorial sovereignty
and maritime delimitation dispute with Qatar in the International Court
of Justice and received the Order of Bahrain as a result of his work on
that dispute. In 1998 and 1999 he was seconded to lead the 5-lawyer
International Transport and Supply Contracts Division of the Legal
Service of Gaz de France, the French gas utility. He has written and
spoken extensively on international legal questions, including legal
issues for international energy companies investing in Iraq. He has
advised governments and international corporations on disputed
sovereignty and maritime delimitation issues throughout the Middle East.
His extensive experience in oil, gas, electricity, water, renewable
energy and infrastructure covers major projects, joint ventures, supply
agreements, transport agreements, competition and regulatory issues, and
contentious matters. He is regularly published and cited in the U.K.,
French and Arabic press and speaks regularly at conferences in the U.K.,
Continental Europe and Africa.

Contributing Authors:

Emily M. Alban

Stanimir A. Alexandrov

Yas Banifatemi

Jan Asmus Bischoff

Colin M. Brown

Markus Burgstaller

Peter D. Cameron

Virginia A. Colaiuta

Graham Coop

James Crawford

Ulf Franke

Jason A. Fry

Norah Gallagher

Laurent Gouiffès

Alexandre de Gramont

Dmitri Grischenko

Jonathan C. Hamilton

Richard Happ

David Herlihy

Kaj I. Hobér (undetermined)

Stephen Jagusch

Meg Kinnear

Christiaan M.J. Kröner

André Mernier

Petr Polásek

Michael Polkinghorne

Christer Söderlund

Jeffrey Sullivan

Sylvia T. Tonova

Sergei Voitovich